Something Interesting Something Cool: Issue 1

February 18, 2012

New to Something Interesting Something Cool? See the explanation here.

This thorough summary and analysis of reflection in C++ by Don Williamson impresses me. To avoid fatigue, I suggest waiting to read part 2 until next issue.

I have fallen in love with Exposé and related functionality in Mac OS X. Recently I found the wonderful application Switcher which has many of the same features for Windows. For the most realistic experience possible, I used F3 as a hotkey and I set it up so that a second press of F3 closes Switcher again.

Does this method of development sound familiar?

Laurie Cheers, a solo developer working out of Vancouver, created a fascinating RPG called Wordsmith (requires Unity). I made it this far after 10 minutes or so, can you do better?

Screenshot of Wordsmith gameplay

Laurie also offers up this talk about invention by Bret Victor, including some interesting ideas about user interfaces.

Ariel Gross talks about using E-Prime to communicate. Notice anything about this post? I found it very hard to do, but educational.

Thank you for reading the inaugural issue! Please send in links for next time!

Leave a comment